Emperor Penguins in the wild

As I was writing my next post about my first solo photography, aged 7, I reflected on how my views of zoos has changed over the years.  I added some closing thoughts about animals in zoos and wildlife parks and I thought it would be good to illustrate how much more we can learn about animals from observing them in their natural habitat.  With Emperor Penguins that is a very harsh environment for us humans, but some intrepid cameramen and their supporting crews have suffered the cold and other hazards to bring back some incredible film.  Here are just two short clips.

6 comments on “Emperor Penguins in the wild

  1. Haha! 😆 I didn’t know they made a call like that!!! Sounds like an Alien!! 🙂 And I love the way they slide around on their belly – best way to get around on tricky bits of snow I suppose! 😀

    • I couldn’t choose which to share, the sensible National Geographic one or the slightly amusing one, with the various calls and noises they make, so I did both. 🙂

    • Oh yes, I love natural world documentaries like that. Apparently, my Mum & Dad took me to see The Incredible Journey film in 1965 when I was less than 3 yrs old and I loved it – I only remember it from a couple of years later than that, but I think the love of animals took root immediately.

      I chose to link to very short clips here in the hope they would be watched and appreciated.

  2. Was that the penguin trumpeting?! 😀 So funny. They are quite peculiar to watch, like suzy says, almost alien with their huge bodies and tiny eyes. I didn’t realise their eyes were so small. I guess you don’t want big watery eyes out in that cold.

    • Yes, that was the Penguin trumpeting – have you not seen the Pingu animations? 😉 (Lots on YouTube) You are right about their eyes, adapted for the frozen wastelands and underwater life too. I like the strange thing they do with their necks, when it goes really long and then short again – wish I could do that! It would make a goo party piece. 🙂

Did you find something interesting - why not share your thoughts?

